A Funky Staircase

Standard

One of my favorite features of our home is the two staircases.  I love that it has a front and back staircase – more modern homes just do not have them anymore.  When we moved in, almost our entire home was covered with old carpet.  When we pulled up the carpet there were several surprises- some good, some not so good.  For example, we discovered beautiful hardwood floors under the carpet in the living room and dining room.  However, under the carpet in the upstairs hallway we discovered this:

Believe it or not, the hallway still looks like this, but we’ll get to it… eventually.

My favorite under-the-carpet discovery was our back staircase.  Here’s Matt after pulling up the carpet:

Yes, the staircase resembles a rainbow.  I have been attempting to research the time period when this may have been painted, but I’m not having much luck.  I will keep researching it, however.  If anyone has any knowledge of staircase painting time periods, please share it with me!  Matt and I both decided we want to attempt to restore this staircase to its full multi-colored glory.

Here’s my progress so far:

After priming the staircase

The tops of the stairs were painted black

All painted!

I used sample sizes for the colored side of each stair.  There is still a lot of paint remaining as well for touch-ups throughout the years.  This staircase is off of the kitchen, and it makes for a great surprise!  Guests always comment on it!  So fun!

GOD BLESS!!

One response »

Leave a Reply

