GF/DF Foodie

Standard

I’ve recently discovered that I have a gluten and dairy sensitivity.  I was diagnosed with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) quite a few years ago, but have not taken any action to remedy this issue until recently.  With this new discovery comes a lot of diet changes for me.  While I’m thankful that gluten free items are more mainstream now, I have to admit I’m mourning my divorce with all things cheese.  I don’t think there’s ever been a cheese I don’t like, but now I can only dream about it.  Although I am still adjusting to this change, eliminating gluten and dairy from my diet have caused my digestive issues to be completely eliminated!  My stomach and digestive system feel calm for the first time in many years- thank God!

I would like to take you on this journey with me, so expect to see lots of recipes and stories about my GF/DF adventures!  If you have any suggestions, tips, or recipes please send them my way!

This is the first recipe I’ve made since becoming GF/DF.  It’s GF/DF lasagna, and it’s pretty darn tasty!  Here’s the recipe if you’re interested:

Ingredients:

Lasagna Pasta (about 9 pieces)
1 Jar of your favorite pasta sauce
1 lb. Natural Free Range Ground Beef (or buffalo)
1 finely chopped Bell Pepper
1/2 a finely chopped sweet onion Finely chopped zucchini, carrot, squash, eggplant, spinach whatever you’ve got going on in the fridge
Roughly 1/4 pound of Daiya Cheese

Let’s get started!

Set your oven to 375 degrees.
1.  To get your pasta ready – get a pot of water boiling. Grab a baking pan and layer your pasta into it. Pour the boiling water over the pasta and cover with a cookie sheet. Let sit for about 20 minutes.

2.  Chop your veggies, get your ground meat into a hot pan, toss in the veggies with some salt, pepper, onion powder, basil – whatever gets you going. Let it brown but not shrink up.

3.   Pour a little olive oil in the bottom of a 9×6 casserole dish and swirl it around.  Layer the bottom with the pasta.

4.  Layer in your beef/veggie mix, sauce and some cheese and add another layer of pasta. Repeat this process to the top and cover with sauce and cheese.

5.  Put in the oven for about 35 minutes.  You can cover it toward the end if you feel the cheese is browning.

6.  Enjoy!!

Umm... YUMM!!

Leave a Reply

