Let’s Try This Again

Standard

Do you remember when I posted a while back that I was done with wheat?  Unfortunately I wasn’t able to stick with it the first time around, but that decision has been kicking me in the stomach, if you know what I mean.  Sooo.. I’m officially committing to it this time.  Since moving to Cincinnati, my various sensitivities have been flaring up constantly and it’s a reminder that these issues aren’t going anywhere, even if the symptoms disappear for a period of time.  I did some research and have been reading a new book called Wheat Belly by Dr. William Davis.  This book has opened my eyes to the fact that going wheat-free isn’t a short-term option for me, but in fact a complete change in the way I view food.  I still have a lot of reading and research to do, and I am not done with his book, but I’ve already started to incorporate this into my lifestyle.
Last week I felt very sluggish from being wheat-free, but this week I have a lot of energy!  Dr. Davis warns that the first 1-2 weeks people may have withdrawal symptoms such as irritability, low energy, intense cravings, and more.  His book literally goes through the entire body and discusses how the wheat that is produced today (all genetically modified and nothing like the wheat that was produced 50+ years ago) is damaging.  I’m not a medical expert so I won’t go into the nitty-gritty details, but if this topic interests you at all, I would highly recommend his book.  So as I promised in this blog waaay back when, I plan to share my wheat-free recipes with you and I would love yours as well!

I made a breakfast casserole last week that I just finished and I am a big fan.  It’s difficult to find wheat-free breakfast foods that are convenient so planning is key.

Ingredients
2 lbs ground sausage
8 ounces softened cream cheese
1/2 small onion, diced
2 jalapeno peppers, diced (or 1/2 green pepper)
12 well-beaten eggs (season with salt and pepper)
1 cup shredded cheese (cheddar or mexican blend)

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9 x 13 pan with non-stick cooking spray.

2) Brown sausage and drain excess grease. Press sausage into the bottom of pan.

3) Break cream cheese into pieces and evenly distribute on top of sausage. Sprinkle with onions and peppers.

4) Pour eggs over the sausage mixture. Add shredded cheese to the top.

5) Bake for 25 minutes, until eggs are just set. Allow to cool for about 5 minutes before cutting

and VOILA!! A yummy breakfast casserole that reheats like a dream!

In other news, we are moving into our house this weekend (YAY!!) so I will have some fun decorating/moving posts soon!

GOD BLESS!

Leave a comment